Here are the top 5 complaints to the RV park office

17
Campground Office Sign

By Nanci Dixon
We are park hosts in a huge regional park. There are a variety of things that make for not-so-happy campers. Have you ever wondered what campers complain about the most? Do other people share the same annoyances as you? We have answers.

Here are the top five complaints the campground office gets from campers at the park.

1. “My neighbors are too loud!”

The number one complaint to a camp office is that the camper’s neighbors are too loud. Campers will call the office when their neighboring campers are noisy, playing loud music, or shouting.

I am constantly amazed at how far the high pitch of a gaggle of screaming pre-teen girls can carry. Watch the noise level. Sometimes it is hard to tell how loud your music, outside TV or group is getting. Respect quiet hours.

2. “Those dogs are off-leash!”

It is frustrating when dog owners don’t follow the same rules. It’s unfair to one Fido, who so desperately wants to run free off-leash, that another Fido gets to break the campground rules and be off-leash. This is the second most common complaint.

No one wants to risk a dog bite or unruly dog entering their campsite. Keep your dogs leashed at all times. If you’re going to tie them up at the campsite, make sure that the leash won’t allow them to get to walkers passing by.

3. “Quiet those barking dogs!”

Sometimes campers will keep their dog(s) inside their RV while they go sightseeing for the day. You all know what happens next … the dog(s) bark all day. If there are complaints, the park office will call the owners and ask them to come back and take care of their dog(s). If the barking continues, barking dog owners may be asked to leave the park. Make sure your dogs are under control and not ceaselessly barking, in or out of the RV. 

4. “My site isn’t level, and it’s too muddy!”

At the park we’re currently at, there are a number of sites that are as flat as a pancake, but there are also some that will raise the RV tires right off the ground. The best bet is to call the office ahead of time and ask for guidance on the most level sites. Some parks will list online how level sites are, and if there is enough room for slides to deploy. For muddy sites call ahead and ask about the general status of the ground if there has been a lot of rain. The park will generally accommodate a move if possible.

5. “Yuck! The restrooms are dirty!”

The restrooms at our park are scheduled to be cleaned three times a day, but, as you know, a lot can happen in between! Staff won’t know that they need cleaning again unless you call and tell them.

Please do your part to keep the restrooms and showers clean (that goes for laundry rooms, too, and other public facilities). Pick up any type of paper if you drop it, keep water in the shower and wipe up your own toothpaste, shampoo and soap spills. Wads of someone else’s hair are gross for anyone, so please discard!

##RVT968

Subscribe
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

17 Comments
Newest
Oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Tony F Stekar
18 days ago

I stayed at a KOA in Butte The shower was ugly too say mildly/ Ended up being contaminate with a foot fungus that I can’t get rid of too this day. My fault ; as I should have been wearing slippers when showering in their ‘s !! Learn the hard way.

Cathy Butler
3 months ago

I was knocked down by a huge black mixed breed dog a few years ago that was off leash. I suffered a concussion and had to have physical therapy to heal my body. My pet peeve on this one was the campground host did “NOTHING”.. the very next day – same dog was running off leash. The hostess did not file an injury report and thus I was unable to go after the dogs owners for any compensation (I just wanted them to pay my deductible health insurance) as there was no proof and the hostess denied anything happened even though she is the one that found me unconscious on the road and kicked me to wake me as she thought I was passed out drunk. At the time the grandchildren of the owner of the dog came running and were like I’m sorry I’m sorry

Allan Weber
4 months ago

Just a quick note about tying up your dog . We were at a campground and a camper did not have their dog tied up and it attacked our Bichon. 3 surgeries latter and over $2000 he is doing ok. The people did pay for all of the costs.

Travis
4 months ago

Interesting comments. I try not to complain to the camp office about anything. If I do then it must be bad. I do not go camping for WIFI, I go camping to get away from that. I can level my camper even in the most unlevel spots. I do like shade but I always do recon or ask before I book. I can handle the occasional barking dog its what they do but if it barks non stop then I might say something. We camp with our greyhounds which do not bark much. Most all times they go with us when we leave. On the few occasions we go out with out them they just sleep. I also like to hear kids having fun. The one thing that will get me to call the office is someone being drunk, loud and dropping the f bomb every other word.

Last edited 4 months ago by Travis
Alaska Traveler
4 months ago

I’ve only complained once…. folks had a loud party till 2AM… But among my pet peeves are dogs off leash and/or not picking up their p**p, and folks walking through our space and campfires. But with that said….I love being a full timer and before I was….there were 50+ yapping sled dogs living next to my stick house. Now I don’t sweat the little things…. and they’re all little things.

dnCook
4 months ago

Barking dogs owned by inconsiderate pet owners top of my list. I love to hear kids playing, people talking and laughing, I guess I like to hear people having fun, but those barking dogs that bark at everything they see are the worst. The lousy pet owner is oblivious to other peoples desire to hear mother nature, singing birds, howling coyotes, etc (which is all music to me) I actually had a lousy pet owner at Davis Mountain State Park tell me “If you would stay in your camper, the dog can”t see you and won’t bark at you, it’s your fault he’s barking” the same dog “unleashed of course” ran off all the white tailed deer that were trying to come in during the evening hours. I’ll stop, I could go on and on and on about barking dogs at parks.

Kim
4 months ago

As a campground owner the biggest
Complaint I get is guests driving to fast in the campground.

want2racer
4 months ago
Reply to  Kim

I will bet this is the same group that comes thru the store and church parking lots full bore.

DARREL B JORGENSEN
4 months ago

Your WiFi sucks

Bill
4 months ago

Barking dogs gotta be at the top of my list. There are the ones that bark all day because their owners’ have left them and those that bark Intermittently when someone walks past their site. The owners of the latter sometimes shush them but noise is out there and will be out there again in a few minutes when the next person goes by as the owners doen’t really fix the problem (probably don’t even see it as a problem, just fido being cute.) Some are yappers, some are howlers, all are a nuisance to those who came for quiet.

chris
4 months ago
Reply to  Bill

You’d think a dog would get tired of barking after a while.. but they never do.

Glenn Abbott
4 months ago

Years ago I had a camp host ask me if the group beside me was bothersome. It was a family with the grandparents, parents and three young children. Children being children, they were having fun and enjoying themselves. My reply to the camp host was : I am on a permanent vacation. If I am bothered enough to complain, I can leave at any time. I still feel the same way.

Steve
4 months ago

Amazing that two of the top five (40%) complaints are about dogs!
“These people show no respect!”.
“It must be the weekend peoples dogs!”
“Don’t these people have any consideration for other campers?”
“When I grew up, we were taught the rules and lived by them!”
“Not my dog, he/she has been camping with us for years.”
“Must be the family with kids.”
Or “Must be the ones that have campfires.”

Many many people bring their dog, including myself.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? “ Matthew 7: 3

Maybe we all could learn and be more tolerant of our fellow campers. Maybe the last complaint was about YOUR dog.

Bobby
4 months ago
Reply to  Steve

I don’t have a dog. If I did, I would keep it quiet in respect of the other campers, or I would leave it at home or doggie daycare. Just because we don’t care to listen to your d@@n dog doesn’t mean the rest of us don’t like dogs. It is your inconsideration toward others and again “It is all about me.” I’ve been camping since 1979 and hate listening to dogs bark all day. Being tolerant is being considerate to other campers, not the other way around.

Roger B
3 months ago
Reply to  Steve

It’s not the dogs fault mostly. It’s the dog parents. Not training them and worst of all not picking up after them.

Brian Holmes
3 months ago
Reply to  Roger B

that being said none of the comments solve the problem, no consequences to the issue causes the this to continue. First complaint a warning second complaint your out of the campground, period. After this gets around it will stop.

Lisa Adcox
4 months ago

As a workamper I have heard these 3 complaints the most.
1,Why does WiFi not work?
2, If WiFi not working well, do I get a discount?
3, I would prefer a site with shade.