Do you need a special RV driver’s license? You might!

    14

    Driving an RV proves to be easy for most RVers after they get the feel of their rig. But for RVers in 10 states, there may be more to driving or towing an RV than climbing in the driver’s seat and heading down the highway.

    The drivers of these rigs might need a special driver’s license.

    In all but one state, California, a license is required based on the RV’s gross vehicle weight (GVW). In California, you’ll need a license if your RV is longer than 40 feet.


    In most states that require a license you’ll need to take a skills test. But others want more evidence of  your ability. Take California for instance. It requires a driver to:

    •Furnish a physician’s health report every two years.
    •Take a knowledge test.
    •Take skills test in the vehicle.
    •Do a “pre-trip” test (visual inspection).

    Learn whether you need a special driver’s license by downloading this pdf document from the RVIA.

    14
    Leave a Comment

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

      Subscribe  
    newest oldest most voted
    Notify of
    Jeff

    The problem with all these licensing or permit articles is the FACT that states that have these requirements don’t enforce them too (I said too) often. Many Policing Agencies don’t even know about these requirements and therefore don’t try to enforce them. Maybe an occasional State Trooper might know, but that will be a rare case!

    I am licensed in Louisiana and travel to Texas quite frequently. Never had a problem. Even driving up north, have never had a problem!

    Key point here too. Do you actually think people who live in states with medical requirements, actually seek physicals for the licensing requirements. I know Commercial Drivers that don’t have current physicals and are still driving big trucks. So, do you think someone who is in their 70’s or 80’s wanting to drive a Motorhome even bother with this requirement???? When many of these Elderly people have medical conditions that would prevent them from driving altogether.

    Too many laws in this country that go un-enforced!

    It is not something I worry about, since I always DRIVE Safely on the roads and Hiways and always under the speed limit!

    Tommy Molnar

    I live in NV and noticed my state on that list that requires special licensing. Never heard of that! I asked a couple RV friends and they too, never heard of that.

    Debi Pitzer

    Retired from Texas DPS DL with 28 years.
    We have a Class B driver license (Texas) for our motor home (36,000 lbs, GVWR). If your recreational vehicle is over 26,000 lbs. GVWR, , you are required to have a Class B (vehicle is exempt from CDL laws). If your towing unit is over 10,000 lbs. and the GCVWR is over 36,000 lbs., You are required to have a Class A (non-CDL). A knowledge exam and a skills (driving) exam are required with $11.00 upgrade fee. If you already hold a Class A CDL, you can drive all types of vehicles except motorcycle.

    Ben Granger

    We live in California and had to get a Recreational Vehicle endorsement as our fifth wheel is over 10,000 lbs. Only a written test was required and $35. Nothing else. The downside is that VERY few people are aware of this requirement, including dealerships and the DMV. The DMV didn’t know what we were talking about and had to ask 3 different people in order to give me the right written test.

    Ron

    RE: California’s requirement of a Class B NCDL for motorhomes over 40′. Many, and I emphasize many, owner/drivers of “model 40” motorhomes feel that this requirement does not pertain to them….even though their coach is over 40′.

    Rusty

    Iam required to have a motorcycle endorsement. I see no reason why owners of RV’s over the length of X shouldn’t have an endorsement too. Drive I-70, I-25, any Highway USA, doesn’t take long to realize some Rv owners are driving way above their skill level and ability. It’s not an age issue to me it’s a understanding skill.

    Ed Fogle

    The article and .pdf weren’t clear on whether the requirement is based on residency or operation in a state.

    Ortep

    So what does this mean to those of us who don’t reside in one of these states but happen to be driving through and may get pulled over for a “burned out taillight” or some other small infraction?